The Culture Of Fear

The last saturday we went to Chicago during a relaxing time planned by the english course. When I was there, I remembered one of my favorites writer: Eduardo Galeano.  Just at the beginning of the summer, I read an Eduardo Galeno’s essay which talks about the history of the workers who were shot in front of the Mc. Cormick factory in Chicago on May 1, 1886.  There was a peaceful rally in support of workers striking for an eight-hour day in the Haymarket Square [1]. During the rally  an unknown person threw a bomb to the policemen killing seven of them. The policemen shot to the multitude and killed a lot of protesters. Then, some of the workers were sentenced to death by hanging for anarchism.

Image

In the essay, Galeano told us that when he was in Chicago, he was surprised because he didn’t find “any statue, no monolith, nor brass plate or anything in memory of the Martyrs of Chicago just in the Haymarket square” [2].

And Galeano was right, because this saturday I didn’t’ find there any sculpture. Only one person told me that there is a memorial monument located at the Forest Home Cemetery. In its base is written the epitaph

“The day will come when our silence will  be more powerful than the voices you are throttling today” [3].

And as there is not any monument in chicago there is not memory in the country. While the whole world celebrate the annual May 1 International Workers’ Day , in USA May 1 is  a non commemorative day although the  workers protest was done in Chicago. So, I can conclude that the fear culture can be a way to let us without memory.

[1] http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Site_of_the_Haymarket_Tragedy
[2] http://www.memoriadelfuego.org/2013/05/la-desmemoria4.html
[3] http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Haymarket_Martyrs%27_Monument

2 thoughts on “The Culture Of Fear

  1. It’s a good writing although I’m unfamiliar with any verse or bard. I think it’s so difficult for me. I went to Chicago on last saturday too, but I focused on arts. Chicago has a lot of museums and Galleries which are interesting places for me.

  2. Do you think it is difficult to read? I’m happy you went to Chicago. As you say it is a city of art. Hoewever, i was interested in the history too that was the reason for looking for any memory of the international Worker’s day!. Do you celebrate this day in your country?

Leave a comment